Reviews

September 2014

Dear Seonaid
Dear Christopher

I hope you are well and that your torre is full of nice and uncomplicated guests who appreciate your special place. Just wanted to let you know that we enjoyed the time at Moravola very much.

Moravola is a special place not only because of the wonderful building and the nature around it but even more because the two of you are such great hosts! We have told our friends about your place and I am sure we will be back at some point in time.

For now I hope that you have enough energy left to finish the season with the truffle festival and that you have some nice plans for your own holidays.

All the best & take care
Sabine & Tim

Dear Seonaid and Christopher

Many many thanks for our wonderful recent stay at your hotel. What an amazing place. Bondine and I loved the location, the hotel, the countryside, the food, the weather, etc, etc (not the half-wolf sheep dog, though).

You were excellent hosts and we are so glad we found you for our wedding anniversary stay. You were very kind to us and we have come home (to our house full of kids and stress) with a host of really good memories.

Take care and all the best Ben and Bondine

Dear Seonaid and Chris,

We hope all is well with you in your magical tower. We thought of you tonight as we are drinking a bottle of Perticaia from Montefalco and Brad was inspired to look up Moravola. We were unhappy to find some of the negative reviews from people who we imagine were rather sour guests.

We have so many wonderful memories of our time at Moravola but your warmth and hospitality are the best of all. We purchased some land on Martha's Vineyard this year and are working with architects now to build a home there so our return to Moravola may be delayed but we will be back.

Wishing you a great autumn,
Valerie and Brad

July 2014

Dear Christopher and Seonaid,

Greetings from Norway - Zoe and I just want to thank you again for the splendid time we had at Torre di Moravola - we will never forget it! You have created something wonderful - we are so hoping that we can a manage another visit sometime soon!

xxLisa & Zoe

May 2014

Hello Seonaid,

I just briefly spoke with Maria and Gerhard, the honeymoon couple – they mentioned you welcomed them with a glass of Prosecco with best wishes from us as well! Thanks so much for this! They loved their stay with you!

Welcome Beyond

August 2013

Dear Seonaid,

Our stay at the Torre was one the best parts of the holidays, now over. We have been telling everyone about it. Also, if there is a possibility of getting those linen sheets from the Milano place, I'm interrested.

Best to you and Christopher.Sophie-Caroline

Dear Seonaid,

After 3 days in Paradise, we are just unable to experience any negative feelings towards anything. We had SUCH a good time at Torre di Moravola, we will never have the right words to thank you enough, Christopher and you. Those blessed days will be forever etched in our memories as our wonderful honeymoon.

François & Michaël

Dear Seonaid,

Hope you remember me, we had incredible staying at your hotel in the beginning of June. How are you doing ? First of all, I want to ensure you that I’m looking forward to visiting you in again in autumn, and I’ll let you know when.

I've tried to find something similar with your hotel for four day city break, but unfortunately Moravola is absolutely incomparable, so I’ve stuck and can’t choose anything at all.

And my question is following: I really appreciate your attitude to life and maybe you would be so kind to recommend me a hotel which you would go if you were me ? Any location in Europe for the short break. I’ll be really appreciate for any advice if it will not take too much time. If you can’t please don’t worry,

Warm regards,
Sergey

Dear Seonaid and Chris,

We miss you guys!
We have been talking about our trip to your place since we left it. The Zen of being there was so wonderful. Thank you both for making sure that our needs were met and that our time on the road was well spent. We will recommend Moravola to anyone who wants a luxurious adventure. We send our best to you.

David and Jean Gottesman

Dear Seonaid,

I'm back at work for a few days now and i'm trying to keep all the benefits of our stay at your incredible “home, house, tower, land, world" every minutes.

We would like to thank you again for everything, from your extraordinary Scottish (i think) sens of humor to your and Christophers' kindness, the delicious and romantic meals your served us, the beauty of the place you've created... Everything was perfect.

We'll recommend Moravola anytime we could with a big pleasure and we would be very happy to see you in aix if you find the time to come.

I'll give you the link of two post that julie mades on her Blog about our experience at Moravola. It's written in french but i'm sure you'll find a way to translate it if you want. She loves to write (that's what she is doing in fact, every day) and she was really inspired by our stay. I hope you would like it.

I really hope we will be back soon.

Best regards.
Alexandre

http://mysunnylifeproject.blogspot.fr/2013/08/retreat.html
http://mysunnylifeproject.blogspot.fr/2013/08/silence.html

Hi Seonaid,

Thank you for the most perfect ending to our honeymoon.

Torre di Moravola is, quite simply, the most magical place we have ever been. From the moment we arrived to the beautiful music echoing out to the valley, the lovely glass of Prosecco and the warmest greeting, we knew we were in a very special place.

A great big thank you to both yourself and Chris from the bottom of our hearts!

with love, Lara & Brian

Chris

Stayed September 2011 Overall rating: Excellent

I likedTorre di Moravola literally made our trip to Europe this summer a success. There should be an "above and beyond" category as we were blown away in every way. The owners Chris & Seonaid have impecible taste and their personal touches make this once cold stone and mortar tower a warm, comfortable inviting (and luxurious) home in Umbria. Unexpectedly great... Also, the food was unbelievably delicious, Chris is a fantastic cook, another really unexpected highlight to our stay there. Plan on having your meals (at least breakfast and dinner) at the tower as we really struggled through out our trip (including Florence & Rome) to find better meals. Great wine selection too. Magnificent pool...

What the hotel could do better Perhaps map out the driving directions from the roundabout (or the main turn on the final road) in KM rather than minutes... and note that the "white" road is actually a gravel road... everything else was great...can't think of anything now to suggest, really great job, thanks for having us!!

Shelley

Stayed October 2011 Overall rating: Excellent

I liked Views, ownerships attention to detail, obvious love and pride and what they do.

What the hotel could do better Nothing, had a wonderful stay!

Ranko

Stayed July 2011 Overall rating: Excellent

I liked It transported us to another dimension of beauty, serenity and bliss! Incredible design, luscious nature and fantastic food and drink, we reminisce with great nostalgia at our oh-too-short stay there.

What the hotel could do better Nothing, had a wonderful stay!

Mandy

Stayed August 2011 Overall rating: Excellent

I liked We loved every minute of our stay and will for sure go back. Chris and Seonaid did a wonderful job of turning this house into an inspirational hotel. We had seen it in a magazine and it was even better than the photos. The rooms are stunning as well as the grounds. The hotel is perched on top of a mountain with the most beautiful views. Chris and Seonaid went out of there way to make us feel comfortable and even collected us from another town after a 2hr hike which was amazing. All the staff were fantastic and a special thanks to the chef and his girlfriend for the delicious meals and for taking us into town on their day off . We spent a great evening with them and other guests at a lovely restaurant. I cannot recommend Torre di Moravola enough!

What the hotel could do better Nothing, had a wonderful stay!

Gillian

Stayed July 2011 Overall rating: Excellent

I liked Beautiful well designed hotel in a lovely picturesque location in Umbria. The meals were absolutely exceptional.

What the hotel could do better Improve the wi-fi reception

Carlos

Stayed April 2011 Overall rating: Excellent

I liked Christopher and Seonaid are amazing hostess. Stay at Moravola is nothing else than an EXPERIENCE. The location, the place and the atmosphere makes you feel home!!! For the first time on a long trip I didn't want to come back home, and I can't wait to go back to Moravola and meet again this new friends

What the hotel could do better Nothing, had a wonderful stay! Seriously.

uriel

Stayed October 2010 Overall rating: Excellent

I liked surprise.

What the hotel could do better Nothing, had a wonderful stay!

Catherine

Stayed October 2010 Overall rating: Excellent

I liked The hotel is just stunning with a contemporary style combined with a gorgeous setting in the Umbrian countryside. Seonaid & Christopher our hosts, were so amazing giving my sister and I maps and itinerary’s to nearby towns including wonderful market visits, wine tastings , restaurant suggestions etc. (even though their food is a must)! The rooms had spectacular views and the beds were so comfortable I never wanted to get up (if it wasn't for the amazing breakfast)! I can not wait to go back!

What the hotel could do better Nothing, had a wonderful stay!

"Even better...."

23 luglio 2011

I won't go on because we posted a review last year and we still feel the same after another visit this year but more. Suffice to say, can't fault it, don't hesitate, just go!

"Came for a day, stayed for Four !"

7 aprile 2011

We intended to drive around Umbria and Tuscany for a week with no plans other than some ideas we saw on the internet and through Tablet...We arrived at Moravola on a weekday afternoon, met our hosts and never wanted to leave. Seonaid is deeply steeped in the history of the area and its villages and will give you great advice on how to spend your days if you feel like leaving the tower (and leaving the tower is very difficult since it is so relaxing and beautiful). We read some of the old reviews which appeared negative, and can only imagine what those folks were expecting (or perhaps what they were like) What we found is a magical place, with lovely hosts, great food, unbelieable flexibility (just ask for something and they will make it happen). We shopped at the market in Umbertide with Seonaid, decided on a picnic and she recommended great local traditional roasted pork sandwiches and amazing cheese, there are great hikes around the farm roads, it is remarkably quiet if you are a city-dweller looking for solace... It is all-around amazing. Christopher is clearly a very talented architect who lovingly directed its renovation and Seonaid does welcome you like it is her home, which makes it all the more special. So, forget the bad reviews from 2009... arrive to your glass of Proseco, enjoy breakfast, bask in the Umbrian sun and have some great Sagrantino in any of the neighboring Medieval villages... truly amazaing. Their website shows it exactly as you should expect - - gorgeous, and we will be back again and again.

"heaven but hard to find"

23 ottobre 2010

My wife & I stayed here for 2 nights last week. Finding the place may be a challenge and driving there on a narrow unsurfaced road for several miles - even more chalanging. However - if you are lucky enough to get there - it is worth it ! An old ruined tower has been beautifully restored by architect Christofer Chong and his very friendly wife with a strange Scotish name - Seonaid. Super modern and yet minimalistic, 7 rooms with swimming pool. If you want a real retreat - that`s the place ! It`s not cheap - but well worth it.

"A stunning retreat in the Umbrian hills"

2 ottobre 2010

Torre di Moravola is a medieval watchtower that has been lovingly and imaginatively transformed into a gorgeous retreat in the umbrian countryside. We loved everything about this place--the location off the beaten path, the stunning contemporary style that blended into the centuries-old structure, the warmth of our hosts, Seonaid and Christopher, the fabulous cuisine, the smell of freshness in the towels, the camaraderie among the guests, the rolling hills framed in the windows, the earthy color palette, the simplicity, the people, the experience.

"A. May. Zing."

1 ottobre 2010

So, this place rocks. It's difficult to know where to start so forgive the randomness of this. Got completely lost first time but once found we didn't mind the seclusion and it means it's totally quiet - I think they might look at some subtle signs for next year though. The property is amazing - the attention to detail in the architecture is apparent everywhere but celebrates rather than hides the original features of the building. The layout is great as it's difficult to know how many rooms or where they are, as opposed to all the rooms being off a central corridor. The black lined pool is incredible and just sort of blends into the surroundings - I didn't realise how harsh the usual blue swimming pool is until I saw this. Really nice to have a 25m pool to do some proper lengths in too. The hosts are welcoming and warm and totally relaxed and we quite missed them when we left! Their laid back and sociable attitude encouraged everyone to socialise so it was a really good atmosphere when we were there and there were some really interesting people - in contrast to the hushed style of the next accommodation we moved on to. It's true this style won't suit some people as there isn't someone to wait on you all the time but Seonaid and Christopher will happily help you with any request and there is plenty of bottled water by the pool. The food is great - ok not Michelin but good quality cooking with great ingredients and lots of it (how many places offer seconds?!?). Breakfast was also good. Montone is completely manageable to drive out for an evening meal and we had a great meal in the restaurant under the walls (forget the name but Seonaid will know). After all, most accommodation in Umbria and Tuscany is a drive away from the nearest restaurant so maybe Moravola is just a slightly longer drive but really no drama. Without hesitation, we will definitely go back here, in fact I'm counting down to it. Just one last note, the negative reviews for Moravola on here are all from the same party in the same week who clearly just didn't get on with the place and it went downhill from there. If you ignore those ones it seems pretty unanimous that this place is fab!

Rik, Belgium

21.09.11

We absolutely liked the owners – they are such nice people!

Michael, United Kingdom

10.09.11

Setting and the design of the Torre were amazing. So remote and totally relaxing!

Michael, United Kingdom

18.07.11

Given the hotel is quite remote and the restaurants in the surrounding towns don't match up to the quality on offer at Moravola, it is very easy to rack up quite a bill, but it is worth every penny.

Fantastically conceived throughout, from the execution of the substantial renovation to the atmosphere Chris and Seonaid have nurtured, backed up by the superb culinary skills of Lachlan.

One word of warning; ditch the sat nav and rely on the directions provided by the hotel.

Jan, Germany

08.06.11

For sure, this was the best hotel we ever slept in. The architecture is wonderful, the owners are so lovely; what a peaceful place. The "olympic pool" is great and what a nice view in the mountains. An excellent place to relax. We must go back !!!

Jocelyn, Australia

02.06.11

The property is in a very secluded location and when we arrived the hosts were so welcoming that you felt like you have come home. We were given a full tour of the property. What a property it is! No detail has been overlooked. If you are looking for complete relaxation in luxurious surroundings, then this is your place. The hotel has a beautiful infinity pool and lovely areas to rest up and read, take in the views or go for some great walks. We had all our meals at the property as the in-house chef is very talented and prepares all meals with fresh ingredients sourced from the vegetable garden or from the local market. Can't wait to go back.

Seonaid and Christopher,

I just wanted to drop you a quick note thanking you again for your splendid hospitality at Torre di Moravola. Miriam and I are, at this point 6 weeks later, quite wistful for the time we stayed with you there. 

The immense creativity and imagination you have brought to realization at your retreat is truly an inspiration. We often reflect on our lovely time with you, the peaceful environment, delicious meals, and your warm hospitality. Going with you to the Castagna Festival in Preggio was one of those wonderful little adventures that will remain a palpable memory. And the Paolo Bea Sagrantino di Montefalco wasn't bad either.

You might find this amusing: as you may recall, Miriam was quite interested in finding some fresh tartufo, and we were able to obtain a sizable one the next night after leaving you, in Orvieto... we smuggled it home safe and sound!

Again...Grazie mille! IF YOU EVER FIND YOURSELF COMING TO SAN FRANCISCO, PLEASE LET US KNOW!

Buongiorno Seonaid + Christopher -

Buon Natale from Terry + Theresa in Canada! At, last the photo (beautiful I must say!), as promised . . . but what better a time to stay connected than at Christmas, when we reflect on those who have touched our lives in a memorable way throughout the year. . . .The two of you are such an inspiration, having created a real masterpiece at Torre di Moravola.

Terry and I enjoyed meeting you both and our stay at Moravola was indeed special. To you both, we extend our warmest wishes for a beautiful holiday season and continued success in 2011!

With love and gratitude -

Hi Seonaid!

We're back in Baltimore and savoring the memories of our trip to Moravola. We had such a GREAT time! Your hospitality made us feel like special guests. (I still can't believe both you and Christopher saw us off with coffee and tea at 4:30am.) By the way, our timing was good for arriving at Fiumicino. We got to our gate with only a half hour to spare for our 11am flight.

Here's a link to a few photos of the trip. Please send Carrie's contact info, I'd love to drop her a note and a link to the pics.

Fondly,
Domenica

Ciao Seonaid!

I hope this email finds you well.

 

I have been meaning to send you and Christopher a note since our stay with you! Life is so hectic, and I dream of the wonderful time we spent at Moravola. I want to thank you for the hospitality you, Christopher and your staff extended to us during our stay. It is definitely one of the best vacation places we have ever stayed in.

 

It was very hard to say goodbye and we dream of the wonderful time we spent at Moravola often. Hopefully one day, we will see you again.

 

Warmest wishes,

Dear Seonaid & Christopher,

We wanted to thank you again for the special stay at Moravola!! You both are such wonderful and talented people in every possible way.

I have a few things we want to send you. What is the best address to mail a package? Also, let us know if there is something you want from Texas/USA.